All of the Florida general election political recommendations of the Times Editorial Board
The board has made recommendations in more than 60 races and ballot measures.
"I Voted" stickers.
"I Voted" stickers. [ ROBYN BECK/AFP | Getty Images North America ]
This article represents the opinion of the Tampa Bay Times Editorial Board.
Published Oct. 6, 2022|Updated Oct. 26, 2022

The Times Editorial Board has now published all of its recommendations in the general election races.

We focused mainly on state wide races and races that have a connection to Pinellas and Hillsborough counties. We wish we could do more — in Pasco, Hernando and Manatee counties, in particular — but the research and interviewing takes time. We don’t want to shortchange the process.

Not everyone thinks that a newspaper’s editorial board should make political recommendations. There are valid arguments on both sides of that debate. We believe the recommendations contribute to healthy political dialogue. And given how many readers ask when the recommendations will appear, a lot of you find them valuable. You don’t have to agree with us, but be assured that we take the process seriously.

Here is a list of all of the recommendations. If a race is not on the list, we will not be making a recommendation. The link for each race is clickable. Click on the link to read the full recommendation.

U.S. Senate

Val Demings

U.S. Representative

District 13 - Eric Lynn

District 14 - Kathy Castor

District 15 - Laurel Lee

District 16 - Vern Buchanan


Charlie Crist

Attorney General

Aramis Ayala

Chief Financial Officer

Adam Hattersley

Agriculture Commissioner

Wilton Simpson

Florida Senate

District 14 - Janet Cruz

District 16 - Darryl Ervin Rouson

District 18 - Eunic Ortiz

District 21 - Ed Hooper

District 23 - Danny Burgess

Florida House

District 58 - Kimberly Berfield

District 59 - Berny Jacques

District 60 - Lindsay Cross

District 61 - Janet Varnell Warwick

District 62 - Michele K. Rayner

District 64 - Susan L. Valdes

District 65 - Jen McDonald

District 66 - Traci Koster

District 67 - Fentrice Driskell

District 68 - Lawrence McClure

District 69 - Andrew Learned

District 70 - Mike Beltran

Pinellas-Pasco State Attorney

Bruce Bartlett

Hillsborough County Commission

District 1 - Harry Cohen

District 2 - Ken Hagan

District 5 - Mariella Smith

District 7 - Kimberly Overman

Pinellas County Commission

District 2 - Pat Gerard

Pinellas School Board

District 3 - Keesha Benson

District 6 - Brian Martin

Hillsborough County Judge

Group 14 - Melissa Black

Pinellas County Judge

Group 1 - Della Cope

Florida Amendments

No. 1 - Eliminating tax on resiliency improvements: No

No. 2 - Abolish Constitution Revision Commission: No

No. 3 - Tax break for police, teachers and others: No

Hillsborough amendments

Countywide - Transportation sales tax: Yes

Temple Terrace - Mayoral pay: Yes

Pinellas amendments

St. Petersburg referendum 1 - Expansion of Dali Museum: Yes

St. Petersburg referendum 2 - Authority to grant economic development tax exemption: Yes

St. Petersburg amendment 1 - Change election schedule: Yes

St. Petersburg amendment 2 - Change residency requirement for redistricting: Yes

Clearwater amendment 1 - Bluff development project: Yes

Spend your days with Hayes

Spend your days with Hayes

Subscribe to our free Stephinitely newsletter

Columnist Stephanie Hayes will share thoughts, feelings and funny business with you every Monday.

You’re all signed up!

Want more of our free, weekly newsletters in your inbox? Let’s get started.

Explore all your options

Largo amendment 1 - Exemption of Horizon West Bay property: Yes

Largo referendum 1 - Authority to grant economic development tax exemption: Yes

Largo referendum 2- Recreation center project: Yes

Dunedin amendment 1 - Charter review committee appointments: Yes

Dunedin amendment 2 - Ordinance review committee appointments: Yes

Indian Shores amendment 1- Qualifications for office: Yes

Indian Shores amendment 2 - Mayor as registered agent: Yes

Indian Shores amendment 3 - Vice mayor rotation: No

Indian Shores amendment 4 - Holding other offices: Yes

Indian Shores amendment 5 - Charter offices: Yes

Madeira Beach amendment 1 - Qualification and term of office: Yes

Madeira Beach amendment 2 - Induction of newly elected member of board of commissioners: Yes

Treasure Island amendment 1 - Update personnel system: Yes

Treasure Island amendment 2 - Signature requirement: Yes

Pinellas Suncoast Fire & Rescue referendum 1 - Approve a fire district tax: Yes

Editorials are the institutional voice of the Tampa Bay Times. The members of the Editorial Board are Editor of Editorials Graham Brink, Sherri Day, Sebastian Dortch, John Hill, Jim Verhulst and Chairman and CEO Conan Gallaty. Follow @TBTimes_Opinion on Twitter for more opinion news.