Advertisement
  1. Opinion

Editorial: Florida House chose NRA over your safety

The Florida House has done exactly what the National Rifle Association wants and risked the safety of all Floridians.
The Florida House has done exactly what the National Rifle Association wants and risked the safety of all Floridians.
Published Feb. 5, 2016

The Florida House has done exactly what the National Rifle Association wants and risked the safety of all Floridians. Over the objections of college and university presidents, it voted to allow concealed weapons to be carried on state college and university campuses. Over the objections of Pinellas Sheriff Bob Gualtieri and most Tampa Bay law enforcement leaders, it voted to allow 1.5 million gun owners with concealed weapons permits to openly carry their guns in most public places. Every Tampa Bay Republican except one voted for both gun bills, and every Democrat voted against them. Tell those lawmakers who caved in again to the NRA and voted for these bills what you think about turning Florida into the Wild West, and let them know they will be held accountable for their votes in the November elections.

Pinellas County

Rep. Larry Ahern

850-717-5066

larry.ahern@ myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Kathleen Peters

South Pasadena

850-717-5069

kathleen.peters@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Chris Sprowls

Palm Harbor

850-717-5065

chris.sprowls@ myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Chris Latvala

Clearwater

850-717-5067

chris.latvala@ myfloridahouse.gov

(Note: Latvala voted for guns on campus but against open carry.)

Pasco County

Rep. Danny Burgess Jr.

San Antonio

850-717-5038

danny.burgess@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Richard Corcoran

Land O'Lakes

850-717-5037

richard.corcoran@myfloridahouse.gov

Hernando County

Rep. Blaise Ingoglia

Spring Hill

850-717-5035

blaise.ingoglia@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Jimmie T. Smith

Inverness

850-717-5034

jimmie.smith@ myfloridahouse.gov

Hillsborough County

Rep. James Grant

Tampa

850-717-5064

james.grant@ myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Shawn Harrison

Tampa

850-717-5063

shawn.harrison@myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Jake Raburn

Lithia

850-717-5057

jake.raburn@ myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Dan Raulerson

Plant City

850-717-5058

dan.raulerson@ myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Ross Spano

Dover

850-717-5059

ross.spano@ myfloridahouse.gov

Rep. Dana Young

Tampa

850-717-5060

dana.young@ myfloridahouse.gov

The Florida Senate should shoot down these gun bills. Tell these Tampa Bay senators to stand up to the National Rifle Association. Don't allow concealed weapons to be legally carried on our college campuses, and vote against HB 4001. Keep our streets free from individuals openly carrying handguns in their holsters or assault rifles strapped over their shoulders, and vote against HB 163.

Sen. John Legg, R-Trinity

legg.john@flsenate.gov

(850) 487-5017

Sen. Wilton Simpson, R-Trilby

simpson.wilton@flsenate.gov

(850) 487-5018

Sen. Arthenia Joyner, D-Tampa

joyner.arthenia@flsenate.gov

(850) 487-5019

Sen. Tom Lee, R-Brandon

lee.tom@flsenate.gov

(850) 487-5024

Sen. Bill Galvano, R-Bradenton

galvano.bill@flsenate.gov

(850) 487-5026

Sen. Jack Latvala, R-Clearwater

latvala.jack@flsenate.gov

(850) 487-5020

Sen. Jeff Brandes, R-St. Petersburg

brandes.jeff@flsenate.gov

(850) 487-5022

Advertisement

This site no longer supports your current browser. Please use a modern and up-to-date browser version for the best experience.

Chrome Firefox Safari Edge