Largo commissioners all unopposed in election

All four will retain their seats without facing the voters
Published December 6 2018

LARGO — Four city commissioners will be serving for at least another four years after they recently were sworn in to office at City Hall.

Michael Smith, Samantha Fenger, Donna Holck and John Carroll were re-elected by default Aug. 3 when no one came forward by the end of the candidate qualifying period to challenge them.

“I think that was a great testament to the quality that you guys are bringing to this commission, and it was a real endorsement from this community for you to be elected without opposition,” Mayor Woody Brown said. “So, let’s keep doing good things and I’m looking forward to it.”

The commission is comprised of six commissioners and the mayor, all of whom are elected in nonpartisan, at-large elections. The annual salary of each commissioner is just over $15,000.

“It’s been a pleasure working with everyone up here. I think we’ve accomplished a lot, and there’s no telling what we can accomplish in the future,” Carroll said.

Commissioner Jamie Robinson said he hopes continuity on the commission will continue to yield results.

“The last four years have been really good,” he said. “I think we’ve done some fantastic things here in the city of Largo, and, at least for the next two years, we’re all going to be up here.”

Smith is a Largo native elected to the commission in 2011 and re-elected in 2014. He is a library assistant at the Barbara S. Ponce Public Library in Pinellas Park.

Fenger was elected in 2014. She was formerly a land use planner with Pinellas County and the city of Tampa and is a Realtor with Imapp Realty Group.

Holck of West Islip, N.Y, was elected to the commission in 2014. She owned and operated Unique Nails Etc. for 20 years and owns DGH Tax Consulting.

Carroll of Oswego, N.Y., also was elected to the commission in 2014. He is an Army veteran and was a member of the Largo Police Department for 33 years, serving in many roles including chief.