1. Sports

Kenseth going out in winning style

NASCAR driver Matt Kenseth, left, and team owner Joe Gibbs talk in the garage at Charlotte Motor Speedway in Concord, N.C., on May 27, 2017. (Jeff Siner/Charlotte Observer/TNS) 1215247
Published Nov. 12, 2017

AVONDALE, Ariz. — Matt Kenseth might be going away, but he's not going quietly.

Kenseth won for the first time this season, snapping a 51-race winless streak, in what might have been the second-to-last Cup race of his NASCAR career. Kenseth does not have a job lined up for next year and said he'll take a break at the start of the season.

"Just got one race left and everybody dreams of going out a winner," a tearful Kenseth said after climbing from his Toyota.

"It's just been quite a journey, and today was a really special day for me, to know that next week is almost for sure my last week behind the wheel."

Kenseth passed Chase Elliott with 10 laps remaining to win Sunday's Can-Am 500 at Phoenix Raceway and deny Elliott the final berth in next week's Monster Energy NASCAR Cup championship race. Had Elliott hung on for the win, he would have qualified for next Sunday's championship finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Brad Keselowski earned the final spot because a playoff-eligible driver did not win the race. Keselowski will race Martin Truex, Kyle Busch and Kevin Harvick for the championship.

Kenseth, a former NASCAR champion and two-time Daytona 500 winner, is 45 and being replaced at Joe Gibbs Racing next season by Erik Jones.

Denny Hamlin's feud with Elliott cost him a chance to get into the championship. During the race, Elliott pulled alongside Hamlin and the two cars made contact. Hamlin grazed the wall and began losing positions.

Just a few laps later, his tire blew. Hamlin hit the wall and his race was over. Elliott admitted he raced Hamlin aggressively, same as Hamlin did when he wrecked Elliott from the lead at Martinsville.

Hamlin could have beaten Kese­lowski into the finale on points had he not wrecked.

Defending champion Jimmie Johnson also wrecked early, ending his bid to make the championship finale.

FORMULA ONE: Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel won the Brazilian Grand Prix in Sao Paulo to solidify his hold on second place in the season standings. Vettel started second but overtook pole-sitter Valtteri Bottas on the first lap.

NHRA: Brittany Force became the series' first female Top Fuel season champion since Shirley Muldowney in 1982 in the Auto Club Finals at Pomona, Calif. Force won the event, beating Shawn Langdon with a 3.668-second pass at 330.07 mph. Tommy Johnson (Funny Car), Bo Butner (Pro Stock) and Andrew Hines (Pro Stock Motorcycle) also won their classes in the season finale.


  1. The Lightning's Carter Verhaeghe (54) works the puck against the Hurricanes' Teuvo Teravainen (86) of Finland, during the first period of a preseason game, in Raleigh, N.C,, last week. KARL B DEBLAKER  |  AP
    The forward, who has two in a preseason loss to the Predators, survives Sunday’s round of cuts.
  2. Tampa Bay Buccaneers wide receiver Mike Evans (13) scores against the New York Giants during the first half of an NFL football game Sunday, Sept. 22, 2019, in Tampa, Fla. (AP Photo/Jason Behnken) JASON BEHNKEN                         |  AP
    Evans nets his first 100-yard receiving day of the season before halftime, along with three touchdowns in a performance that feels headed toward the record books.
  3. Rays relief pitcher Andrew Kittredge (36) sits in the dugout during Tampa Bay's 7-4 loss to Boston Sunday, September 22, 2019, in St. Petersburg. DOUGLAS R. CLIFFORD  |  Tampa Bay Times
    Red Sox 7, Rays 4: Tampa Bay’s only excitement comes on Brendan McKay’s first major-league home run.
  4. Tampa Bay Rays center fielder Kevin Kiermaier (39) is out stealing second on a call review during the second inning while playing the Boston Red Sox on Sunday, September 22, 2019, in St. Petersburg. DOUGLAS R. CLIFFORD  |  Tampa Bay Times
    Martin Fennelly: Takeaways from the Rays’ 7-4 loss Sunday to Boston.
  5. Tampa Bay Buccaneers wide receiver Mike Evans (13) catches a 20-yard touchdown reception against the New York Giants during the first half of an NFL football game Sunday, Sept. 22, 2019, in Tampa, Fla. (AP Photo/Mark LoMoglio) MARK LOMOGLIO  |  AP
    Bucs 28, Giants 25: Giants rookie quarterback Daniel Jones’ NFL debut features a furious comeback to start the second half.
  6. The Tampa Bay Rays face the Red Sox in Game 3 of the series at Tropicana Field. The Red Sox defeated the Rays 7-4.
  7. The Tampa Bay Buccaneers are 1-1 as they face the New York Giants for the second home game of the regular season.
  8. Tampa Bay Buccaneers wide receiver Scotty Miller (10) warms up before the Tampa Bay Buccaneers game against the Cleveland Browns at Raymond James Stadium on August 23, 2019 in Tampa, Florida. MONICA HERNDON  |  Tampa Bay Times
    Miller with give the Bucs six active receivers against a New York pass defense that ranks 30th in the league.
  9. Brandon Lowe was back in the Rays lineup  Sunday for the first time since his July 2 injury. ALLIE GOULDING  |  Times
    Rays-Red Sox: All-Star infielder Brandon Lowe is playing for the first time since July 2.
  10. Pittsburgh quarterback Kenny Pickett (8) reaches to recover his fumble in front of Central Florida linebacker Tatum Bethune (15) during the second half of an NCAA college football game, Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019, in Pittsburgh. Pitt recovered the fumble. (AP Photo/Keith Srakocic) KEITH SRAKOCIC  |  AP
    The Florida Gators stayed steady after trouncing Tennessee, which is very bad at playing football.