2014-15 College football bowl projections

Published Dec. 7, 2014

Bowl: (Matchup) Where, when, TV — Projection

(Through games of Saturday, Dec. 6)

New Orleans: (MWC vs. Sun Belt) New Orleans, Dec. 20, 11 a.m., ESPN — Louisiana-Lafayette vs. San Diego State

New Mexico: (C-USA vs. MWC) Albuquerque, Dec. 20, 2, ESPN — UTEP vs. Fresno State

Las Vegas: (MWC vs. Pac-12) Las Vegas, Dec. 20, 3:30, Ch. 28 — Colorado State vs. Stanford

Idaho Potato: (MAC vs. MWC) Boise, Idaho, Dec. 20, 5:45, ESPN — Western Michigan vs. Nevada

Camellia: (MAC vs. Sun Belt) Montgomery, Ala., Dec. 20, 9:15, ESPN — Bowling Green vs. South Alabama

Miami Beach: (BYU vs. AAC) Miami, Dec. 22, 2, ESPN — BYU vs. Cincinnati

Boca Raton: (C-USA vs. MAC) Boca Raton, Dec. 23, 6, ESPN — Western Kentucky vs. Central Michigan

Poinsettia: (Navy vs. MWC) San Diego, Dec. 23, 9:30, ESPN — Navy vs. Utah State

Bahamas: (C-USA vs. MAC) Nassau, Dec. 24, noon, ESPN — Louisiana Tech vs. Toledo

Hawaii: (C-USA vs. MWC) Honolulu, Dec. 24, 8, ESPN — Rice vs. Air Force

Heart of Dallas: (Big Ten vs. C-USA) Dallas, Dec. 26, 1, ESPN — Penn State vs. Marshall

Quick Lane: (Big Ten vs. ACC) Detroit, Dec. 26, 4:30, ESPN — Illinois vs. Boston College

Bitcoin: (ACC vs. AAC) St. Petersburg, Dec. 26, 8, ESPN — Miami vs. UCF

Military: (ACC vs. AAC) Annapolis, Md., Dec. 27, 1, ESPN — North Carolina vs. East Carolina

Sun: (ACC vs. Pac-12) El Paso, Texas, Dec. 27, 2, Ch. 10 — Notre Dame vs. Utah

Independence: (ACC vs. SEC) Shreveport, La., Dec. 27, 2, Ch. 28 — Virginia Tech vs. Arkansas

Pinstripe: (ACC vs. Big Ten) Bronx, N.Y., Dec. 27, 4:30, ESPN — Louisville vs. Maryland

Holiday: (Big Ten vs. Pac-12) San Diego, Dec. 27, 8, ESPN — Minnesota vs. USC

Liberty: (Big 12 vs. SEC) Memphis, Dec. 29, 2, ESPN — Texas vs. Tennessee

Russell Athletic: (ACC vs. Big 12) Orlando, Dec. 29, 5:30, ESPN — Clemson vs. Oklahoma

Texas: (Big 12 vs. SEC) Houston, Dec. 29, 9, ESPN — West Virginia vs. LSU

Music City: (ACC/Big Ten vs. SEC) Nashville, Dec. 30, 3, ESPN — Duke vs. Auburn

Belk: (ACC vs. SEC) Charlotte, N.C., Dec. 30, 6:30, ESPN — North Carolina State vs. Florida

Foster Farms: (Big Ten vs. Pac-12) Santa Clara, Calif., Dec. 30, 10, ESPN — Rutgers vs. Arizona State

Peach: (TBD vs. TBD) Atlanta, Dec. 31, 12:30, ESPN — Boise State vs. Mississippi

Fiesta: (TBD vs. TBD) Glendale, Ariz., Dec. 31, 4, ESPN — Michigan State vs. Arizona

Orange: (TBD vs. TBD) Miami, Dec. 31, 8, ESPN — Georgia Tech vs. Mississippi State

Cotton: (TBD vs. TBD) Arlington, Texas, 12:30 p.m., Jan. 1, ESPN — Ohio State vs. Baylor

Citrus: (ACC/Big Ten vs. SEC) Orlando, Jan. 1, 1, Ch. 28 — Wisconsin vs. Missouri

Outback: (Big Ten vs. SEC) Tampa, Jan. 1, 1, ESPN2 — Nebraska vs. Georgia

Get real-time alerts about your favorite teams

Get real-time alerts about your favorite teams

Subscribe to our free Breaking Sports News newsletter

We’ll send you major developments in the local, state and national sports world as they happen.

You’re all signed up!

Want more of our free, weekly newsletters in your inbox? Let’s get started.

Explore all your options

Rose: (CFP vs. CFP) Pasadena, Calif., Jan. 1, 5, ESPN — Oregon vs. Florida State

Sugar: (CFP vs. CFP) New Orleans, Jan. 1, 8:30, ESPN — TCU vs. Alabama

Armed Forces: (Army vs. AAC) Fort Worth, Texas, Jan. 2, noon, ESPN — Houston vs. Pittsburgh*

TaxSlayer: (ACC/Big Ten vs. SEC) Jacksonville, Jan. 2, 3:20, ESPN — Iowa vs. Texas A&M

Alamo: (Big 12 vs. Pac-12) San Antonio, Jan. 2, 6:45, ESPN — Kansas State vs. UCLA

Cactus: (Big 12 vs. Pac-12) Tempe, Ariz., Jan. 2, 10:15, ESPN — Oklahoma State vs. Washington

Birmingham: (SEC vs. AAC) Birmingham, Ala., Jan. 3, 1, ESPN2 — South Carolina vs. Memphis

GoDaddy: (MAC vs. Sun Belt) Mobile, Ala., Jan. 4, 9, ESPN — Northern Illinois vs. Arkansas State

Championship Game: (CFP vs. CFP) Arlington, Texas, Jan. 12, 8:30, ESPN — Rose Bowl winner vs. Sugar Bowl winner

Teams in bold have accepted a bid.

* — At-large team filling in when a conference doesn't have enough bowl-eligible teams.

Note: The college football playoff committee will chose 12 teams — four for the national semifinals (Rose and Sugar) and eight for the other major bowls (Fiesta, Cotton, Orange and Peach).