Advertisement

Pasco father, son team races toward dreams

Tampa Bay Times
Published April 11, 2012

NEW PORT RICHEY — Cody Lane has spent his life behind a steering wheel preparing himself for the opportunities that currently lay ahead.

The 16-year-old Fivay High School student has been crowned with Rookie of the Year awards, pushing himself to the limit while balancing a steady dose of good grades and extracurricular activities at times. But Cody, a Missouri native whose family moved to New Port Richey to care for his grandmother, always feels at his best behind the wheel.

"I think I'm a natural driver because when I get in the car I just know what to do," Cody said. "I'm in my zone there. It's been that way since a young age. I still have a lot to learn but that's why I watch the other drivers closely and just try to learn as much as I can while I'm out there. I would like to race NASCAR one day, but my real goal is to do the Indy Racing League where it's road courses."

His father, Kevin Lane, is the mechanic, pit chief, financier and coach. They are a two-man racing duo the whole way, sharing the sport that they love and getting Cody ready to move on to the next level.

"We started him out at 4 years old," Kevin Lane said. "We moved him up steadily from go karts to the NASCAR Bandolero series and on to late model stuff around the age of 14. Now he's in a super late model car and he's competing against the big boys. That's the money game and that's always pitted us against the odds. Just competing is a big deal."

Cody currently races in the super late model class calling Citrus County Speedway his home. That will soon change, when Showtime Speedway in Pinellas County opens at the end of the month, providing Lane with a series of races to be a part of and a chance to regularly show off his skill.