Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Sports
  2. /
  3. HomeTeam

Tampa Bay can sweep college football titles with another Clemson win tonight

Every national champion (Division II, III and I-AA) in college football this season has multiple locals dotting the roster.

Clemson can win its third national title in four years by beating LSU in tonight’s College Football Playoff national championship game (8 p.m., ESPN). The Tigers have become a powerhouse due in large part to stellar recruiting classes, which have included plenty of locals the past decade.

Former Tampa Bay Tech standout Deon Cain had more than 90 yards receiving and former East Lake star Artavis Scott executed a perfect pick play for the winning touchdown to lead Clemson past Alabama in a title game thriller three years ago at Raymond James Stadium.

Four area players — receiver T.J. Chase (Plant City), offensive lineman Will Putnam (Plant), punter Aidan Swanson (Jesuit/IMG) and defensive end Regan Upshaw Jr. (Alonso) — can finish as champions if Clemson wins again tonight. There are no area players on LSU’s roster.

That would also continue the trend of having at least one local finish as a national champion at every level of college football this season. Here are the others.

Related: North Dakota State-James Madison title tilt has Tampa Bay ties

North Dakota State, Division I-AA (FCS) champion

RB Jalen Bussey, Fr., Tampa Catholic

WR Zach Mathis, R-Fr., Berkeley Prep

DB Cam Smith, Fr., Admiral Farragut

WR Christian Watson, So., Plant

West Florida, Division II champion

TE Larry Dalla Betta, So., Mitchell

OL Marshall Elam, R-Fr., Indian Rocks Christian

WR Nate Howard, Fr., Land O’ Lakes

DB Terry Limehouse Jr., R-So., Armwood

OL Riley Metheney, R-Sr., Countryside

LB Jerquan Newton, R-So., Clearwater Central Catholic

RB Jervon Newton, R-So., Clearwater Central Catholic

OL Joe Wintrick, R-Sr., Wharton

LB Peyton Xayasone, R-Fr., Countryside

North Central (Illinois), Division III champion

LB Daniel Slaughter, Fr., East Lake

LB John Daway, Fr., Blake