1. Lightning

Blue Jackets' John Tortorella, Oilers' Connor McDavid top NHL awards

The Blue Jackets’ John Tortorella also won the award with the Lightning in 2004.
The Blue Jackets’ John Tortorella also won the award with the Lightning in 2004.
Published Jun. 22, 2017

LAS VEGAS — John Tortorella, who led the Blue Jackets to the best regular season in their history last season, was named the NHL's coach of the year Wednesday night at the league's awards show.

"I'm not sure I'd be up here if the media voted on it," said Tortorella of the Jack Adams Award, voted on by members of the National Hockey League Broadcasters Association.

"It's really good for the organization, and that's what I'm so happy about."

Under Tortorella in his first full season, the Blue Jackets set franchise records for wins (50) and points (108) and had a 16-game winning streak, one shy of the NHL record. Tortorella replaced Todd Richards after an 0-7 start in 2015-16.

Tortorella won the award for the second time. His first was with the Lightning in 2003-04, Tampa Bay's Stanley Cup-winning season.

The Oilers' Connor McDavid won the Hart Trophy as MVP voted by the media and the Ted Lindsay Award, given to the most outstanding player chosen in a vote by players association members. In his second season, the 20-year-old center won the league scoring title and led the Oilers back to the playoffs after an 11-year absence.

Blue Jackets goalie Sergei Bobrovsky won his second Vezina Trophy as the league's top netminder.

Maple Leafs forward Auston Matthews, the top overall pick in last year's draft, was the runaway winner of the Calder Trophy as top rookie. Bruins forward Patrice Bergeron joined Bob Gainey as the only four-time winners of the Selke Trophy as best defensive forward. The Flames' Johnny Gaudreau won the Lady Byng Trophy for sportsmanlike play.

The Predators' David Poile was named the top general manager.

Senators goalie Craig Anderson won the Bill Masterton Trophy for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. He left the Senators during the season to support his wife, Nicholle, after she was diagnosed with throat cancer, then returned to become Ottawa's career victories leader and backstop the Senators to the Eastern Conference final.

Expansion draft: Three-time Stanley Cup-winning goalie Marc-Andre Fleury, defensemen Marc Methot and Alexei Emelin, 30-goal scorer Jonathan Marchessault and forwards David Perron and James Neal were among the veterans selected by Vegas when owner Bill Foley and general manager George McPhee announced their choices during the awards show. (Draft list, For the Record, 2C)

Around the league: Blackhawks wing Marian Hossa said he won't play next season because of severe side effects from medication to treat a skin disorder he has had for years. At 38, the 19-year veteran and three-time Cup winner may have played his last game.