Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Sports
  2. /
  3. Rays

Rays TV man Dewayne Staats a finalist of Hall of Fame Frick award

Staats is among eight candidates for the award given annually acknowledging "excellence in baseball broadcasting.''

ST. PETERSBURG — Longtime Rays TV man Dewayne Staats is among eight finalists for the Hall of Fame’s Frick award given annually to acknowledge "excellence in baseball broadcasting.''

Staats has broadcast all 22 Rays seasons thus far, and 2020 will be his 45th year in the business.

Other finalists, and what they are most known for, are:

Joe Castiglione (Red Sox radio), Jacques Doucet (Expos radio, Blue Jays TV), Tom Hamilton (Indians radio), Ken Harrelson (White Sox TV), Pat Hughes (Cubs radio), Ned Martin (Red Sox radio and TV) and Mike Shannon (Cardinals radio).

"It’s a great honor to be in that group of people,'' Staats said. "It’s been a dream anyway. So it’s really great. It’s an honor to be with those guys. ... I look around and it’s like what am I doing here.''

The winner will be announced Dec. 11, and honored July 25 during Hall of Fame induction weekend. Voting will be done by a panel of 11 living Frick Award recipients (Marty Brennaman, Bob Costas, Jaime Jarrín, Tony Kubek, Denny Matthews, Tim McCarver, Jon Miller, Eric Nadel, Vin Scully, Bob Uecker, Dave Van Horne) plus four historians/columnists (David J. Halberstam, Barry Horn, Ted Patterson, Curt Smith).

More than 200 broadcasters were considered eligible for the award. Per the Hall, the election cycle "rotates annually among Current Major League Markets (team-specific announcers); National Voices (broadcasters whose contributions were realized on a national level); and Broadcasting Beginnings (early team voices and pioneers of baseball broadcasting).'