1. Visual Arts

Tampa sculptor takes best in show award at 39th Mainsail Arts Festival

Published Apr. 20, 2014

ST. PETERSBURG — Charles Parkhill, whose cerebral wood sculptures have been the subject of several exhibitions at museums and prestigious galleries, took the $10,000 best-in-show award at the 39th annual Mainsail Arts Festival on Sunday. He said he'll probably use it for a down payment on a new van, "but I'm not sure. This is such a shock."

But a good one, he said, adding that sales had been very good on Saturday, echoing affirmatives from other artists and Mainsail's chairman, Jane Ferguson.

Parkhill also won the best-in-show award in 1995, the first year he exhibited at Mainsail.

"We had an amazing day yesterday," Ferguson said. "Having it on Easter weekend seemed to help us, actually. There is a competing show out of state that moved its date, so we had a lot more artists apply, which meant that we could be even more selective in choosing them."

The skies are always a concern for the third weekend in April, but this year's weather was benign, with only a few light drizzles on Saturday, turning to a sunny and cool Sunday.

Katherine Pill, the associate curator of art after 1950 at the Museum of Fine Arts, St. Petersburg, was the 2014 judge, handing out 49 prizes totaling $60,000. (The Purchase Award winners are selected by individual and corporate donors to the festival.)

Of Parkhill's sculptures, she said, "They struck me as the most exciting work here. I loved the combination of old wood paired with Home Depot materials, the form, the stories behind the material."

Award winners

Best of Mainsail Gold Award, $10,000: Charles Parkhill, sculpture.

Mainsail Silver Award, $5,000: Duncan McClellan, glass.

Mainsail Bronze Awards, $2,500: Stephen Ray, oil/acrylic, and John Mascoll, wood.

Awards of Excellence, $1,500 each: Oren Estell, Scott Hartley, Cheryl Mackey Smith, Rocky Bridges, Amy Carstensen, Susan Gott, Richard Auger, Lawrence Packard, Sandy Lent, David Fernandez.

Awards of Distinction, $1,000: Andy Smith, Chuck Boux, Mel Fleck, Nancy Cervenka, Michael Nemnich, Vince Pompei, Frank Strunk III, Larry Brown, John Bayalis, Scott Gamble, Erica Hall, Michael Thiele, Sandra Brewster, Scott Causey, William Kidd.

Awards of Merit, $500: Charles Hazelaar, Marlow Gates, Jason Brueck, Kathleen Hunt, John Kellum, John Furches, William Kwamena-Poh, Princy & John Fears, Lorri Honeycutt, Ernest Simmons, Janet O'Rourke, Larry & Sherry Paulsen, Renee Dinauer, Dave Bruner, Karyn Adamek, Z.L. Feng, Jon Smith, David McKirdy, Charles Gatewood, Ana Varela.

Purchase Awards, $200 (plus the purchase of artwork): ARTicles Gallery by Leslie Curran — Robert Lawarre; Anthony L. LaSpada, P.A. — Paul Montecalvo; Madeline McCarthy — Charles Rowe; Monika and Fred MacFawn — Kimberly Willcox; Terry and Ginny McCarthy — Paul LaMontagne; The Mahaffey Apartment Company — Russ Erickson; The Princess Martha — Andy Smith; Shapiro's Gallery – Scott Gamble; Sally and William Snyder — Robert Myrvall; Wells, House, Schatzel, P.A. — Gary Curtis.

Lennie Bennett can be reached at or (727) 893-8293.


  1. Visitor Sara Crigger of Nashville views the Dali masterwork painting "The Hallucinogenic Toreador" (1969-1970) this month with the aid of the Dali app on her smartphone. "Using this is like holding an art history class in your hand," Crigger said. The "Visual Magic: Masterworks in Augmented Reality" exhibit runs through Nov. 3 at the Dali Museum in St. Petersburg. SCOTT KEELER  |   Times
    With augmented reality, 19th century prints, bronzes and food photography, a well-rounded experience awaits.
  2. Tampa Museum of Art features this work and others on display as part of the exhibition "Purvis Young: 91." Courtesy of  Philip LaDeau
    Free Museum Day is here, plus there’s a new show at Mize Gallery and Creative Pinellas showcases emerging artists.
  3. Patrons hit the dance floor at Tampa venue Skipper's Smokehouse in 2015. LUIS SANTANA  |  Tampa Bay Times (2015)
    A 12-hour party in the Skipperdome, stargazing and a family-friendly Williams Park festival provide free and cheap entertainment.
  4. Mural on the side of the Amsterdam Bar, Central Avenue, St. Petersburg. “SHINE.” The wall was completed with the help of students from the Bloom Gallery. SCOTT KEELER  |  Tampa Bay Times
    The roster for October’s festival includes a mix of international, national and local artists
  5. St. Petersburg based Ink Werkz Crew created this mural at 1610 Central Avenue for the first SHINE mural festival. Painted in late 2015, a Chase Bank branch was built on the parking lot in front of it in 2018. The artists Reid Jenkins, Scott Hillis and Sovoth Chan were never told that it would be covered. Jenkins found out from his then five-year-old daughter. SCOTT KEELER  |  Tampa Bay Times
    As the city grows and empty lots become fewer, murals of the recent past risk being hidden from view.
  6. Jean-Michel Basquiat (American, 1960-1988), Untitled (Word on Wood), 1985. Acrylic and oil stick on wood fence slats. 90 x 72 inches. Private collection. Photographer: Jeremy Scott. © Estate of Jean-Michel Basquiat. Licensed by Artestar, New York. Courtesy of Jeremy Scott
    Here’s how to get free admission and discounts at nearly 20 local institutions.
  7. "Dark Arts at Hogwarts Castle," the new light projection show at Universal Orlando, will open this weekend, running on select nights through Nov. 15. Universal Orlando
    Death Eaters, Voldemort and other creepy creatures from the world of Harry Potter star in the nighttime display.
  8. "Untitled (Word on Wood)" by Jean-Michel Basquiat. The piece is one of the iconic artist's masterpieces on display at Tampa Museum of Art. Courtesy of Jeremy Scott
    In addition to two masterworks from Jean-Michel Basquiat, TMA also opens exhibitions of Haitian flags and works by artist Purvis Young.
  9. From left: Tim Curry as Frank N. Furter, Barry Bostwick as Brad Majors and Susan Sarandon as Janet Weiss in "The Rocky Horror Picture Show." 20th Century Fox
    The popular ‘Last Podcast on the Left’ and Barry Bostwick from ‘The Rocky Horror Picture Show’ are new to A Nightmare on Franklin Street.
  10. Disney's Aladdin comes to the Straz Center for the Performing Arts as part of the 2019-2020 Broadway series. Courtesy of Deen van Meer.
    From augmented reality at the Dalí to a boatload of Beethoven at the Florida Orchestra, it’s shaping up as another busy season in the arts.